A Little Advice

adverse effects

Image by 17 storey via Flickr

Living in modern society sometimes has some adverse effects on our reasoning and morality. The veils between black and white are easily crossed. One of the perks of being me is that I have been able to learn a lot from the generations that came before us and this is a little advice that I have put together for you from what I have learned from them.

1. Actions speak louder than words. Don’t let your words make you a liar, don’t make promises you can’t keep and especially don’t say one thing and do another.

2. You’ll only realise how important your word and your integrity is once you no longer have it.

3. Always speaking the truth doesn’t make you a good person, a good person is the one who may know the truth but knows which truths are better left untold.

4. Only weak people always answer with maybes, it shows lack of commitment and indecisiveness.

5. Love is asking nothing and giving everything.

6. Wisdom is knowing when to shut the hell up.

One response to “A Little Advice

  • mollyjayne40

    1. So true. The last 2 examples are versions of the first, although I would change “liars” to “lying” as I don’t like labels. 🙂 I’ve especially learned the value of saying, “We’ll see” or “I’ll do my best, but I can’t promise.”
    2. Luckily, you can rebuild it. Sadly, it’ll likely take a long time, usually.
    3. Yes, truth is the facts. Honesty includes the element of honoring others by how or if you share the truth.
    4. Equally weak is the person who never says “maybe” as the strength of their convictions makes them close-minded, inflexible and incapable of change and growth.
    5. I’d say love is giving your all, while expecting nothing in return. However, one of the most loving things someone can do for me is to ask my help because I am allowed to share my gifts, to have a sense of purpose, to banish feelings of helplessness in difficult situations, to reset a sense of indebtedness, etc.
    6. As one of my co-contributors say, “9 times out of 10, we say 200% more than we need to!”
    Keep blogging. Thanks for the trackback. I’ve added this article to my list of related articles on callissejdeterre’s post on Variegated Vision (I’m the admin).

Leave a Reply

